Is tequila vegan? - Wholesome Culture - Blog
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $100. (USA + CANADA)

Ever said “no” to a salt-rimmed margarita, because you weren’t sure if its main ingredient – tequila – is vegan-friendly?

Well, for those of you who are fans of this bold Mexican beverage and have been holding back from having it, here comes the best news: Tequila IS vegan! 

Enjoying a tequila cocktail at the lake

So, what makes tequila plant-based and while we’re on the topic, which alcoholic drinks are far from being vegan?

Read on to find out!

Why tequila is vegan

Tequila comes from blue agave – a succulent plant found in Mexican regions, that looks like a giant pineapple. The drink is made from the piña – the heart of the plant, which can weigh up to 200 pounds!

There are no additional ingredients in true tequila made by superior brands, making it completely plant-based.

What makes an alcoholic drink non-vegan

While tequila is an ethical, vegan-friendly drink, many alcoholic beverages aren’t. Plenty of drinks contain animal-based components, which may be a surprise to some.

Identifying these animal-derived ingredients can be a challenge, as their names don’t always give it away.

Here’s a list of hidden non-vegan ingredients to look out for in alcoholic beverages, and what they derive from:women drinking beer

  • Charcoal (animal bone)
  • Isinglass (fish swim bladders)
  • Chitin (crab and lobster shells)
  • Albumin (eggs or dried blood)
  • Carmine (cochineal insect)
  • Albumen (egg white)
  • Casein (milk)
  • Gelatine (connective tissues and bones of cows or pigs)
  • Pepsin (pigs)

Non-vegan alcoholic drinks to watch for

To save you from a minefield of confusion at the bar, here is a list of alcoholic drinks that often contain these ingredients. Vegan versions of these drinks can be found, but you should check the components carefully. The list includes:woman drinking wine

  • Beer
  • Wine and fortified wine
  • Cider
  • Some spirits and liquors

So, now that you know that tequila is vegan, will you be stocking up on salt and lemon?!

Are there any other vegan drinks you enjoy? If you’d like some inspiration, check out our list of the top 5 vegan drinks to try this summer.

And if you’re a huge tequila fan, tell the world with one of our tequila is vegan tees!

Leave a Response

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This